Information about the Canary Islands and Tenerife

The Canary Islands belong to Spain and benefit under a special regime within the European Union. They were discovered by the Romans in the 1 st. Century and were named the Fortunate Islands and considered to be remains of the mythical Atlantis. The subtropical climate and the influence of the trade Alisios winds transform them into the islands of eternal Spring with coastal temperatures between 16ēC. and 33ēC. The archipelago comprises seven Islands:Lanzarote, Fuerteventura, Gran Canaria, Tenerife, La Gomera , La Palma and El Hierro . Each Island is unique with scenery ranging from desert to rich vegetation.

Tenerife largest Island of the archipelago with an area of 2.034 km2, it possesses the most important range of flora and fauna of the Islands and, thanks to its size and topography, is dominated by Mount Teide ( 3.718 m.) , the highest peak in Spain. Tenerife is an Island rich in history and culture , of beautiful villages where old and modern houses blend together respecting both nature and the scenery. The most important tourist resorts of Tenerife are ; in the north of the Island Puerto de la Cruz and in the south Los Cristianos , Las Americas and Los Gigantes . Santa Cruz is the Capital and is an important centre of commerce and a strategic port linking Europe, Africa and America.